Strawberry Mousse Cake

Celebrating Easter has always been a huge deal in our family.  When I was a little girl, my mother would let me pick out a special Easter dress (usually frilly and pink) along with a special pair of pretty white shoes.  To top it all off – had a matching hat and white gloves.  We went to Easter mass on Sunday and afterwards was the big, huge family meal. Growing up in a large Italian family, my grandmother would host the dinner for all of the family and there was always a delicious baked ham (and homemade ravioli to make sure dinner was “Italian-ized”) of course, my grandmother made her homemade Almond Biscotti and Poppyseed Rolls for dessert.

The desserts are almost the best part of the meal and being that I am ME (and I am always the host these years) – I always focus more on what I will be making for the desserts rather than focusing on the meal itself.  Sure, I can make a really awesome macaroni and cheese (my oldest son called me the other day for the recipe! Score!) and mashed potatoes that would make you wanna come back to my house for every year afterwards (maybe that’s why I am the chosen host haha) but the desserts are just ultra special. Every year I am trying to find some inspiration on how to make something “new” for my special Easter dessert and this year I have chosen this awesome dessert from Southern Living. Its called Strawberry Mousse Cake and if you have been following me for a while, you know my son Charlie is a strawberry maniac (birthdays are always a strawberry overload with strawberry cakes topped with strawberry icing + strawberry ice cream) so I am going to try to score some major Mom points this year 🙂

For other Easter dessert recipe and party planning ideas (and these can also be used for a Spring brunch/tea party, Wedding and Baby Shower, Mothers Day get-together) you can check out here for other ideas as well.

I hope you have a wonderful time with family and friends – however you celebrate!

xoxoxoxo

Coleen

Strawberry Mousse Cake (Southern Living)

Strawberry Mousse Cake (Southern Living)

Leave a Reply

