Classic Strawberry Shortcake

Welcome Summer 2012! As a child, I have many fond memories of spending summers at my grandparents cottage in Vermont – with Lake Champlain directly across the gravel road.  Grampy had a huge garden in the backyard and grew strawberries that us kids used to just eat by the handfuls. Grammy always made homemade strawberry shortcake on these hot summer evenings for dessert and I still have this vision of the dough spread out on the kitchen table and her meticulously cutting circles into the dough.  The plump strawberries…the homemade cream…it was truly a masterpiece and always brought alot of smiles and made full tummy’s.  This is a recipe that reminds me of what my Grammy would have made on these hot summer evenings and I hope you enjoy.  You can find the recipe here.  What are your favorite memories of summers long ago? 

